To buy: From$32 with coupon (was $36), amazon.com. Instead of crowding my cabinets with serving pieces of various sizes and shapes, I wanted one piece that works for all kinds of dishes: yogurt bowls for breakfast, salads for lunch, and heaps of pasta for dinner. Because of their hybrid shape that features a wide, flat bottom like a plate and raised edges like a bowl, these beauties are perfect for a variety of foods. They’re also ideal for renters like me who don’t have the space for a dining table and tend to do a lot of couch eating. The clever porcelain blates come in two sizes and five colors, all of which are safe for the microwave, dishwasher, oven, and freezer. They’ve proven to be so handy that I tossed everything else taking up space in my cupboards. And I’ve used them so much that I went back and invested in a second set to ensure I had enough for entertaining friends and family. To buy: From$32 with coupon (was $36), amazon.com. Many also appreciate their 7.7-inch and 8.3-inch sizes, which make them a bit smaller than a typical dinner plate. Several reviewers with weight loss goals said these made it easier to serve up smaller portions while others said that their beautiful presentation made veggie-packed dishes and salads look even more exciting. “I feel super silly that kitchen serving plates [and] bowls would make me happy, but these do,” one reviewer wrote. I share the same sentiment, and I’m surprised that something seemingly trivial, like dishes, would delight me like these do. But after enduring a two-year pandemic, I’m eager to find joy wherever I can—and right now, it’s coming from these practical, elegant blates.