How She Made the Built-Ins

To construct this DIY storage solution, Basnight first planned out the space using painter’s tape on the wall, marking where each shelf, drawer, and clothing rod would go. Once the space was mapped out, it was time to start building. On her blog, she detailed the entire process, from choosing the materials (she went with maple plywood), to cutting each piece, to spray painting everything and installing the drawers. Want the quick recap? Just watch the Instagram Reel below, which shows how the space came together in just 30 seconds.

How It Changed Her Routine

After moving into a new house in December, Basnight tackled the closet makeover as one of her first major projects. Just like decor can make you feel at home, customized storage that helps your day run smoothly can make your space feel tailor-made for you. “Having my closet finished has drastically changed my morning routine,” she says. “For months, I was living out of bins and so unorganized when it came to my clothing, now I have an organized space that allows me to get ready and feel good about getting dressed in the morning.” For Basnight, the closet doesn’t just help speed up her morning routine, but it makes getting dressed an enjoyable and creative part of her day. “As a girl who loves fashion, I’m so glad I was able to create a space I can really have fun in.”

Get the Look