But those high highs come crashing down as soon as you see your beloved fruits and vegetables have spoiled. For me, it’s a race against the clock to eat as much as I can; otherwise, I have to toss half-full containers into the trash. (And I’m not alone—the United States chucks nearly 40 percent of its food each year.) While there’s nothing wrong with eating tons of fresh fruits and vegetables quickly, I jump on any trick or tool that promises to extend the life of my farmer’s market purchases. And my most recent experiment? Rubbermaid’s FreshWorks Produce Saver. Made with a FreshVent technology that regulates the flow of oxygen and carbon dioxide, as well as a CrispTray that elevates food and facilitates airflow, the containers promise to keep produce fresh for up to 80 percent longer than store counterparts. Yep, 80 percent longer. To buy: $27 for three-piece set; amazon.com “I can’t believe it, but it works! I have three-week-old blackberries that are still fresh,” raved one reviewer. “I’m such a believer now.” Another user gave them a try because Rubbermaid guarantees the lid filters will last the life of the container: “I went on a 10 day trip to visit my mom and left my husband home with asparagus, strawberries, and spinach in the containers,” she wrote. “He ate some of all of them, but there was plenty left when I got back and they were in perfect condition! I couldn’t believe it!” Curious to see if they really were life-changing, I called in a set of the containers (full disclosure: they were given to me by the brand) and roped a few of my teammates to try each of the sizes with me. Here’s what we thought: To buy: $6 (was $11); amazon.com. To buy: $9 (was $10); amazon.com. To buy: $9 (was $13); amazon.com. To buy: $14 (was $16); amazon.com.