Since I had zero experience painting furniture, I chose a paint that would essentially be fool-proof: chalk paint. It’s a type of paint that adds a fully matte, chalky appearance to any piece of furniture, but it can also be used on other surfaces, such as brick, glass, and cement. It can be distressed with sandpaper for a vintage, worn-in look, or left alone for a smooth, solid wash of color. The main reason why I chose to use it is because it requires no prep work before painting—you can jump right in and begin, even on previously painted furniture. To buy: From $20; amazon.com. I was worried the pale pink shade I chose would be too light to fully cover the original black color of the dresser, but after two coats, it was completely gone. It only took one paint brush and two hours of work to make my well-loved dresser appear brand new. Chalky Chicks recommends you finish off the job with a clear furniture wax or exterior polycrylic to keep the paint from chipping. And if it’s ever needed, it’s easy to go back in and touch up.