Today, my stressed reflection showed a tired pallor that looked utterly depleted. The Groundhog Day lethargy is real guys—and my face was proof. I wanted to do something for myself; and for me, seeing a bright reflection did wonders for my optimism. While I consider myself decent at applying makeup, one look inside my makeup drawer revealed a random collection of mostly expired beauty products. I needed a fresh start, and Bobbi Brown’s MasterClass was my answer to self-care. So, I promptly enrolled in Brown Teaches Makeup and Beauty ($180 for all-access pass; masterclass.com). The three-plus-hour course is organized into 19 mini-tutorials that demonstrate her no-makeup makeup philosophy. This class completely changed how I look at and purchase makeup. In learning about different brushes and applications, I also gained a newfound confidence in how I use makeup and, more importantly, how it can change my mood in only a few minutes. While helpful to watch how she applies her makeup (I’ve watched the foundation section three times!), I’ll tell you how to enhance your look by making just a few quick changes to your routine. For the perfect morning moisturizer, I experimented with all my moisturizers by brushing one brand on one side of my face and another on the other, and then asked my husband which side of my face looked better in a blind test. Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel was the clear winner ($20; target.com). A brush helped me thin out the already translucent formula. (I now have a designated face moisturizer brush that I rinse after each use.) Once everything was absorbed, my skin looked more matted and my pores were less visible. My canvas was ready for makeup. I also snagged two Nudestix concealer pencils ($26 each; nudestix.com). That’s not a typo—I needed two. In her MasterClass demo, Bobbi uses one as foundation, and another lighter shade as undereye concealer. According to Brown, concealers should always be one shade lighter than your foundation. Once I patted, not rubbed, the concealer into my skin with my fingers and blended the edges with a sponge, I instantly looked more awake. Here’s an important tip from Brown: Instead of starting at the apples of your cheeks and moving outward towards your temples, gently sweep down toward the center of your cheek for a more natural application. To prevent this, Brown recommends starting on the outside and drawing inwards little by little to taper the line. With this technique, my eyes actually matched on the first try, because going outside-in made it easier to come closer to my lash line. It will cut your eyeliner application time in half, guaranteed. According to Brown, a quick way to achieve curled lashes without a medieval torture device is pressing down at the base of your lash line as the mascara is drying. And presto! Instantly curled lashes. I applied the pinky quartz all over, then the taupe, and then switched brushes for the dark chocolate halfway up the lid. Had I used the same brush, I would have diffused the dark shadow, pretty much defeating the point of the smoky eye. For something more subtle, dab some liquid illuminator highlighter into the darkish spot where your eye meets the nose. It will instantly brighten your eyes and make you look more awake. RELATED: Working Remotely? Here Are 10 Beauty Tips to Help You Look Your Best Over Video